Question - automating roller blinds based on light level

Hi,

I have been running HA for about 4 months now and, wow, the world has come a long way since I played with Z-Wave over a decade ago!

I currently have open / close routines configured based on time of day but would like to up my game and use the current level of brightness factor into the decision making logic. Given that I already have HUE integrated and working well, I intend to use the “Illuminance” value as a trigger to open or close the blinds.

I’m looking for guidance as to how to have an event triggered (such as too bright, close the blinds OR too dark, open the blinds) but not too have this happen to frequently. Is there a way to lock out an automation from being triggered for a set duration?

First of all, if you set up an automation to trigger below a certain value, it only triggers when going from higher to lower. Same if you trigger above, it will only trigger once, when it changes from lower to higher. So in itself, these conditions should not trigger too often.

Adittionally, but not exeactly what you asked: there’s also the trigger duration setting. You can say: ‘when it is above for longer than … time’ by entering a duration as well, which could also prevent triggering on short fluctuations:

platform: numeric_state
entity_id: sensor.lightlevel
for:
  hours: 0
  minutes: 10
  seconds: 0
above: '200'

Myself, I use a threshold sensor, that uses a ‘hysteresis’, which is a range that the value must pass before it will turn back to the other value. The below one turns on if the light value is higher than 210, and only turns off again when the light level goes below 10:

binary_sensor:
  - platform: threshold
    device_class: light
    name: Dakschermen grenswaarde
    entity_id: sensor.lightlevel
    upper: 110
    hysteresis: 100

I operate the screen on the change of the binary sensor. That never triggers too often for me.