Question: Running Homeassistant using Docker on macOS

Hello,

I am still pretty new to running Homeassistant (thanks to my good friend Keith) and I installed using Pip. However, I started getting interested in Docker because I have broken HA at least once or twice and it took a lot of work to fix the mess. I believe Docker would allow me to upgrade my environment such as Python, without fear of wrecking HA.
I found the article at http://www.phatpenguin.com/2018/12/hassio-via-docker-on-mac.html helpful; however, I have a couple of questions.
I created a yaml file I will use to fire off the Docker instance.
Here are my questions:

1. The volume: key has - ~/hassio:/config as the value. I wanted to confirm that if - ~/hassio: is a directory in my home folder, is the /config a subdirectory? Would I put my configuration files in the /configure subdirectory?
  2. Are there any significant downsides to running Docker and Homeassistant in this manner?
  3. Any tips or things I should know?
  4. How about Appdaemon, (I know this might be a little out of scope), but any issues running it outside the container?

If there are resources I should be reading, please advise and thank you in advance.

V/r
Scott

1 Like

The local folder hassio will appear as folder config inside the container (at filesystem‘s root). On first start, HA will create /config/configuration.yaml inside the container, so you will find it as /home/hassio/configuration.yaml on the host filesystem.

No, it‘s a documented installation method called Home Assistant Container.

Learn some Docker and container basics, you‘ll need it for maintenance and debugging. And keep in mind, that containers are ephemeral. Any change inside a container will be gone, once the container is re-created (e.g. during update).

I am not familiar with this, but if AppDaemon can be contacted via filesystem or network, it will work.

1 Like