Rasberry Pi 4 can't connect to lan

Hello,

I am new to Hass and trying to get my Pi 4 to load. I have used several different SD Cards, PSU and connected an HDMI cable to see what happens and it will boot and get to the command prompt however nothing past that. I can detect it using the app FING and it shows a MAC address but no IP address.

I have tried 3 different networks with no success, please help.

Thanks

Common tasks - Operating System - Home Assistant.

At the command prompt enter:

ha core check
ha core info

^ what he says! :slight_smile:

And please, give us more informations about your hard- and software and how you did the install, what version and installation mehtod you used and preferrably all the info you can think of. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi, Thanks for the mega fast reply.

When booting it states
“Failed to start network manager wait online”

64GB SD Card
Pi 4
HASS 12.1

Core Check retiurned a 500 server error

Core Info
arch : aarch64
ip_address of 172.30.32.1
rasberrypi4-64
port : 8123
ssl false
version landing page
version_latest:null

Did you follow these installation instructions: Raspberry Pi - Home Assistant.

Also, anything in the logs?

ha core logs
ha supervisor logs

Hi Mark

Thanks and yes I followed the instructions and have read several places about problems with ethernet cables which I have tried swapping.

Core logs just say 8.8.8.8:80 network is unreachable
Supervisor logs say -
Updater.fetch_data block from execution no supervisor internet connection
Warning supervisor.homeassistant.core error on Home Assistant installation retrying in 30sec

This is a network problem - not a RPi problem. A network connection is needed to set the time for the RPi. Try plugging a pc into the cable the Pi is connected to and see if you can get to the internet.

HI

Yes I do get an internet connection. I have also tried connecting straight into my router and also I took it to work to try that as I had seen comments about Virgin Media routers.