Raspberry PI Pico W - Infrared Receiver and MQTT

I have a Pi 1 with irw and mqtt and would like to move to something more compact.

I picked up a Pico W and would like to use this instead.

Does anyone have a similar setup? This is my first project with the Pico W so I’m not sure how to proceed.

I’ve loaded micropython and have it working with a simple script to flash the LED and connect to wifi so I have the basics and I’m looking for the next steps.

thanks

I have several Pico’s in use, all over MQTT (just one using wifi though, the others all use other data transfer types). They’re great little MCUs. I use the Paho Embedded Platform client for MQTT. It’s physical transfer layer agnostic, so you can use it over pretty much any connection (Ethernet, wifi, 2G/3G/4G/5G, NBIoT, etc). It’s pretty low level though and it’s all C++.

I never used MicroPython, but Google revealed these two promising tutorials:

There’s also this ESPHome thing that seems to be all the rage around here and I think they support the Pico W. It’s not MQTT though, but their own protocol. If you can’t / don’t want to write the firmware yourself, you could look into that.

MQTT is also available in esphome but there might be some valid reasons to choose the native api instead :rocket:

Specially the homeassistant.event action or even the homeassistant.tag_scanned action which are directly working with the native api might be handy for remote receiving :raised_hands:

what are the pros and cons of having my setup using micropython vs ESPhome?

I’m new to both worlds so if anyone has already done this using either, a step by step would be appreciated.

thanks