Rate my hardware - Intel NUC

Hi Everyone,

I’m very new in the journey, but looking to get an Intel NUC and use Proxmox to have a VM for HA and one for Frigate. I’m using VM instead of docker for HA so I can use supervised at a minimum for more flexibility later. I have a USB Coral for Frigate.

Just for reference, I also have an older Synology NAS, but when I attempted to set up a VM it struggled as it’s an older CPU with sub par RAM. I’ll continue to use the NAS but just for media, back ups and storing footage from Frigate.

For my hardware, I want something that’s future proofed without going too over the top. The 11th Gen i5 Intel NUC seemed to hit this point for me.

In choosing which model, I’m looking to go for the PAHi5 as it has the additional 2.5" SATA slot on top of the M2. I thought, again in the interest of future proofing, that keeping the m2 slot free would be ideal. While I already have a USB Coral, I might want to move to an M2 down the track or have other needs.

For the 2.5", I am looking at the Samsung 870 EVO 1TB 2.5" Internal SSD. Again, this aims to keep the M2 slow free.

For the RAM, as this model has up to 64gb RAM with 2x drives, I was just going to get 1x Crucial 32gb RAM. I’m thinking that this will allow me get another big one down the track if required, noting that 32gb sounds like it would be enough for the rest of my set up.

I welcome any feedback on any of this - I’m just a hobbyist so feel free to tear my plan to shreds!

11th gen i5 is definitly enough. It will even be overpowered.
I was using an older J5005 previously which was a Pentium Silver. This was actually already just fine for all I am doing.
However, as i wanted to host more VMs via Proxmox I decided to upgrade. First I found an i5 10th gen NUC and shortly after an i7 10th gen. They can be found relatively cheap slightly used for way less than the 11th gen.
For me, the main benefit of the 11th gen is the beefed up GPU.