Re-purposed ADT Safewatch 2000 & 3000 keypads (Honewell/Ademco) with HA!

Hey everyone!

I had been using ADT for a while, but they were increasing their prices $5 per year. What had started at $35/month was about to become $55 four years later. Thanks much for being a loyal customer…but no thank you, cancelled!

I always have some ESP8266 laying around, so I started playing with the Konnected.io firmware, connected all my wired zones (all wires go in my basement), added some zigbee sensors for a few doors that had ADT’s RF wireless sensors, connected the siren, created some automation, used my Google Homes to announce stuff etc…pretty cool! I was pretty happy about it.

And then it was time to demonstrate and teach my wife on our new alarm protocols…and the biggest questions were…“what about those keypads? Do I really need to do all this from my phone? What if I don’t know where it is? Can’t you find a way to use the keypads?” Challenge accepted!

Got down the google rabbit hole, found some solutions, which seemed quite complicated, what about a tablet? We need a frame, a charger…times 3 (we have 3 floors, one keypad on each), mmm…no.

So I took those keypads apart, and bingo! Let’s just re-use the hardware, but accommodate custom electronics (Arduino Nanos), all connected via serial to an ESP8266!

Step 1:
Cut the tracks on the circuit board to isolate the original electronics from the new one (I just section the track using a blade)

Front:

Back:

Step 2: Widen the holes so that WS2812 pixels can fit (see pic 1 above vs pic 2)
Step 3: Solder all the wires
Step 4: Add the LEDs (6 total, #1,2,3,4 for keypad backlight, 5 for “Armed”, 6 for “Ready”)
Step 5: add the Arduino Nano

And here it is complete!

On the Nano:

• TX1: connected to ESP8266 RX pin (I used the gray wire going to basement). Diode added so that multiple keypad send data to the ESP
  • RX0: connected to ESP8266 TX pin (Yellow wire going to basement)
  • D2: Keypad column 4
  • D3: Keypad column 3