Really struggeling with even the simplest automation

Hey, I’m new to Home Assistant and I’m going insane with even the most simple config, reading through countless examples (so many different suggestions and formating for the same thing) but I cannot get this working.

I’ve set up a scenes and they respond as expected when I activate them from Overview.
However I’m struggling really bad with automation of even the simple stuff I’m starting out with.

First step is simply turning the lights off at a specific time, I have this in my automations.yaml but it does nothing :frowning:

- id: '1531863387944'
  alias: 'God natt'
  trigger:
    platform: time
    at: '23:00:00'
  condition:
    condition: time
      weekday:
      - mon
      - tue
      - wed
      - thu
      - fri
  action:
    service: scene.turn_on
    entity_id: scene.lys_av

Please help me or point me in the right direction.

Sorry about bad formating, thought I did this right, working on it…

I just like to add, if I trigger the automation manually it works, it turns off the light. So I’m guessing there is something wrong with the trigger/condition config.

This is another case of “YAML is very sensitive to indentation”! (:wink: This trips up new users all the time. Hang in there - you’ll get it!)

So, if you look here, you’ll see that weekday: should line up directly below condition: time. So:

- id: '1531863387944'
  alias: 'God natt'
  trigger:
    platform: time
    at: '23:00:00'
  condition:
    condition: time
    weekday:
      - mon
      - tue
      - wed
      - thu
      - fri
  action:
    service: scene.turn_on
    entity_id: scene.lys_av

That should fix it.

pnbruckner, thank you for your time.