Recomended Energy meter

Hi,

I’m searching for a good Energy meter for almost 8 channels using clamps.

I know about Shelly EM and I’m using it in some cases but Shelly didn’t launch it in Plus model and Pro models are expensive for multiple channels.

I have also seen Iotawatt but i think its difficult to get almost in Spain.

I have recenty seen that Emporia has launched Vue Gen3 version and seems to be very good hardware (I haven’t found so much information about it’s precission).

But the inconvenient about Emporia is that it doesn’t have local API. I have seen HACS integrations and also the possibility to put ESPHome…

Do you recomend Emporia? Are third party integrations working well? It’s working well with ESPHome? (I’m not an expert with ESPHome).

Note: I’m from spain and we have 1 phase at 230V.

Thanks for your help. With regards,

Shelly EM has local api

Yes, I know. But I was searching for monitoring almost 8-10 channels. With Shelly EM could be very expensive …

Shelly EM has 2 chanels and cost’s around $50
What’s the problem of not being “plus model”?

You probably need to consider reliability and accuracy too, if you go too cheap.

I have a few Shelly EMs myself.

For a bank like you want, maybe also consider ESPHome. Look at the electricity section.

Forgot to add: here’s a 12-channel option: https://openenergymonitor.org/.

Shelly really made their circuit/tuning well, I have never seen a device that can handle different type of loads well as it does. Triac regulated loads are often difficult to energy monitors, also small current draws. Shell EM has no problem, it can accurately measure super noisy loads and tiny (~1W) loads as well.

1 Like

I have commented about plus model to have latest features that Shelly is offering with Plus models and ESP32. The old ones are not so updated …
In Spain Shelly EM + 2x50A Clamps cost about 80€

If I have to monitor 10 channels I need 5. So …400€