Recommended hardware for simple heating control

Hi folks,

I’m completely new to Home Assistant and smart homes in general, but have 20+ years of software engineering background. (Also a bit of hobby-level knowledge of building analog/digital hardware.)

I’m planning to replace the dumb thermostat of a central gas heating of my house. The house does not have any sort of smart home infrastructure set up yet.

What I want for now is:

• A basic wireless wall-mounted thermostat (measures and displays room temperature, allows setting desired temperature). Ideally the simplest possible display, preferably no touch screen and no touch buttons.
  • A wireless relay that controls the central gas heating (the system receives an on/off signal via a 230V AC cable)
  • An “internet gateway” that connects to the LAN and WAN uplink via WiFi or Ethernet.
  • I might add controllers to individual room radiators as well but this is optional for now.

In the future I might add air condition, solar panels or other stuff to the system, but for now my needs are pretty simple. If someone has pointers to specific hardware or guides on “getting started from scratch and keeping it simple”, I’d much appreciate advice.

Thanks,
Marci

Where in the world are you?

I ask because I am in the UK and use the Hive system (which has everything you describe), but they pulled out of the US last year. It does have a touch screen, but can be controlled via their app. It’s a cloud gateway to HomeAssistant, but can also be controlled locally via Z2M (but I have not tried this myself yet - waiting for the weather to warm up first!).

I’m in Hungary / EU.

Not sure if that’s obvious here, but I want to buy things that can also operate without the vendor-specific cloud, for privacy reasons, but also in case they go out of business.

Right! …that’s why I mentioned local control over Z2M which means no hub/cloud required :slight_smile: