Reconfiguring homeKit and Aqara FP2

Hiya, So I’m having an absolute nightmare with this, and given I’m fairly new to Home Assistant (2 months), I’m cautious about aimlessly fiddling about.

I have a lot of devices in my house, and I started integrating the FP2 mm wave sensors from Aqara recently. I got two and after a pain in the arse trying to set them up using an Android phone, and having google nest Wi-Fi, I eventually got them into the Aqara app by driving away from the house, hot-spotting my phone with the same Wi-Fi name and password, restricting 2.4Ghz, and setting up from the second phone. When returning home they connected to my Wi-Fi OK and worked.

When I got them back online they showed up as new integrations in HomeKit and were easy to add from there using the pairing codes on the back.

Fast forward to a few days ago, I learned that setting up Zones actually creates additional virtual room presence sensors. Great for automations and light tracking. So I ordered three more. However I was premature in my actions. I add them OK (drive down the road and hotspot again) to make sure they worked, once I knew they were paired and they were working in HA, I then went and configured zones on all 5 sensors.

This is where is went wrong. HomeKit started warning “Failed setup, will retry”, and they all got stuck in a state of “initialising”. I tried restarting, clearing cache, configuring, all to no avail. So then I tried taking the zones out the Aqara app, and returning them to the state they were when working, all to no avail. I then restored HA to a backup from the night before when they were working, all to no avail. Nothing would work.