Recorder remote database options

Recorder is taking an age to start (large database) and the size contributes to very large backup files. I know I can reduce the size of that by selecting what is stored, but I’m considering completely offloading the database to a Proxmox container.

Question is, which database flavour to use? I know little about database architecture but the 3 contenders seem to be

• PostgreSQL
  • MariaDB
  • InfluxDB

Any suggestions on which would be the best solution?

Does the Base OS used for the container make any difference?

I don’t think you can use InfluxDB.

2 Likes

I have been using Postgresql for 2 years with HA and find it very solid. I run it in a docker container beside my HA in docker container on Ubuntu 20, not too hard to install and configure. Get it running and yourself comfortable with starting, stopping, querying, exports then cut HA over to using it. It does a very nice job of extracting JSON attributes out of HA’s recorder records. The free version of this GUI query tool does a nice job of working with Postgresql:
https://tableplus.com/

1 Like

I have now tried to setup a PostgreSQL instance but HA is raising errors when it tried to load any sensor data.

Have you seen this? PostgreSQL Error - Key (old_state_id) is not present in table sensor entities

I used MariaDB for a while which worked great, but reverted back to the default included DB format as I do not care too much about it. Long term data gets writted to an Influxdb which is running for about 5 years now. I regularly flush the internal database.

It isn’t for long term storage, it is about efficiency. Using the Standard setup, Recorder is really slow to start. By offloading the database to a separate system, startup is really quick.

The PostgreSQL instance is running on a ProxmoxVE LXC on an old laptop.