Reject Filter Not Working

I am trying to randomly select lights from a group without repeating previously selected. After the first light is selected, it is added to a group named prev_on which is the group for the reject list.

When the following is run in develop tools / template, the light that is in prev_on is still included with result.

{{expand('group.vacation_lights_group')
| map(attribute='entity_id')
| reject('in', expand('group.prev_on')
| map(attribute='entity_id'))
| join(', ')}}

The desired result list should be all lights in group.vacation_lights_group except those listed included in group.prev_on.

I am new to HA and this is the first one I just can’t figure out. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

The template looks fine.

If you are using it in a Template Sensor, it’s evaluated only when either group’s state changes, not when either group’s membership changes.
Let’s say both groups are off. Then the vacation group changes to on. The state-change causes the template to be evaluated. Then one of the lights in the vacation group turns off. As long as at least one other light in the group remains on, the group’s state remains on and so, without a state-change, the template is not evaluated. It doesn’t matter if the “prev_on” group increases its membership at this point. As long as neither group changed state, the template is not updated.

Disclaimer
That’s my best guess; I haven’t tested your template on my system to confirm its behavior.

EDIT

On second thought, I have decided that my initial hypothesis is BS.

The expand() function should be exposing all of the group’s membership (i.e. listeners are created for all members) and not just the group itself.