Relays change state on boot and restart - how to fix?

Hi there,
I’m quite new to Home Assistant and home automation stuff.
I’ve installed Home Assistant on Raspberry Pi 3 and connected 8 low-level trigger 5v relays module, similar to this:
8-channel-5v-relay-module-for-arduino-500x500

I’m able to control relays using HA, but there is one problem.
When I power up my raspberry or restart HA relays are “flickering”.

I couldn’t find anything here, maybe because many users use ESP8266 via MQTT to control relays.

I’m wondering if it is possible to setup initial GPIO pin state, so my 8 relays won’t flicker.

On raspberry forum I found this thread, new firmware for raspberry has new command “gpio” that allows to setup gpios.
Is this possible to setup using hassio? (I’ve setup my Home Assistant using Getting Started page)

Select the GPIOs you use carefully. The “pull” columns in this diagram shows what state the GPIO wlill be on boot (before the port is initialised),

down = low
up = high.

Click to enlarge.

Also read Note 2. A couple of the pins have permanent pull up resistors.

thank You for reply. Now I’m even more confused than before :confused:
could You advice me which one are “safe” to use? As I wrote before I need 8 pins for 8 relays.
I have active low relays, so pins should be pull up so relays won’t flicker. Am I right on that?
GPIO7, GPIO8 are ok? Problem is that there aren’t many GPIO’s that are pull up.
Any alternatives?

If your relays are active low then yes you want the pull up GPIOs. Of which there are only 7:

GPIO2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7,8.

So one of your relays may flicker on start up becuase you have to use a pull down GPIO.

You could use logic inverters (not gates, 1 in = 0 out, and vice versa) to drive the relays, in which case you would use the the pull down outputs of which there are many more.

Or just use the logic inverter circuit for the one relay you need to use a pull down GPIO for.

logic-log47

Another option: