Replace Primary Controller with Aeotec Gen5 currently set as Secondary Controller

I have a house of about 35 devices (light dimmers in hard to reach places, wall switches and thermostats), all connected to a primary controller that is now out of production and the support is ending.
Therefore, I would like to switch the devices to a Raspberry Pi 3 with Aeotec Z-stick Gen5 that I just connected to the network as secondary controller.

Will there in any way be possible to remove the primary controller and change the Z-stick to primary? I have been told it is not possible and that I have to remove and re-add, re-configure and re-group all devices in order to make the switch. This would represent a lot of work and risk for me, being a total noob. Given all the options, functions, add-ons and scrips HA has to offer, I keep my fingers crossed there is a simpler solutions. Everything looks so promising and smooth in HA, I only need this last piece of the puzzle.

Any help would be highly appreciated!! :slight_smile:

This is mostly going to revolve around what kind of controller you are currently using. Controllers based on Silicon Labs’ Zwave 500 and 700 chipsets can be backed up (Save the contents of the Non-Volitile RAM (NVR)) and transplanted to a different stick but your source and destination sticks need to both have at least a SL 500 series chipset. (ZWave JS recently added the ability to even down convert 700 > 500 in the rare chance you need it)

If it’s anything else you’ll likely need to do a complete rebuild. (I recently came from SmartThings, I moved 84 devices by hand- it sucked, I feel you.)