Rest sensor for school vacations openholidaysapi

Hello everyone,

I am quite new to Home Assistant and am currently tearing my hair out regarding the correct configuration of a REST sensor to read out the current or next school vacations for Germany from www.openholidaysapi.org.

What I have so far:

• in sensors.yaml
- platform: rest
  scan_interval: 3600
  name: schulferien_bw_next_json
  unique_id: sensor.schulferien_bw_next_json
  icon: mdi:calendar-cursor
  resource_template: >-
    https://openholidaysapi.org/SchoolHolidays?countryIsoCode=DE&languageIsoCode=DE&subdivisionCode=DE-BW&validFrom={{(now()).strftime('%Y-%m-%d')}}&validTo={{(now()+timedelta(days=120)).strftime('%Y-%m-%d')}}
  value_template: >-
    {{value_json[0]|to_json|string}}

This fills sensor.schulferien_bw_next_json with the following:

{"id":"7c71dc62-dfe0-43e0-9d56-4599da11f959","startDate":"2024-03-23","endDate":"2024-04-05","type":"School","name":[{"language":"DE","text":"Osterferien"}],"nationwide":false,"subdivisions":[{"code":"DE-BW","shortName":"BW"}]}

or prettified:

{
    "id": "7c71dc62-dfe0-43e0-9d56-4599da11f959",
    "startDate": "2024-03-23",
    "endDate": "2024-04-05",
    "type": "School",
    "name": [
        {
            "language": "DE",
            "text": "Osterferien"
        }
    ],
    "nationwide": false,
    "subdivisions": [
        {
            "code": "DE-BW",
            "shortName": "BW"
        }
    ]
}

As you can see, one of the most interessting entries, the name of the vacation - here “Osterferien” - is nested in name[0].text, while other important entries such as start and end are one level above.

What I want to achieve is one entity, which is a boolean:

• true, if we have vacation actually
  • false, if not
  • all interesting entries as well as some calculated entries should be added as attributes to this sensor:
    • name
    • duration
    • begins: Start datetime of the vacation