Restart HASSIO from my pfsense router

Hello,

I would like to restart home assistant from my pfsense router once my SSL certificates have been renewed by pfsense(ACME, lets encrypt). I want to keep certificates renewal from pfsense, I’m using wildcard so same certificates for all my sub-domains.

So far I can scp my certificates to hassio. And of course I can SSH into hassio!

Now I’m trying to restart HA from pfsense.

Here what I tried while SSHing from pfsense cli. I’m almost there but I miss something. I’m pretty new to CLI in general.

RESTART OK ; I SSH then I can type my command

[2.4.4-RELEASE][root’@'pfsense.domain.xx]/root: ssh -i ~/.ssh/opensshhassio [email protected]

| | | | ()
| |__| | __ _ ___ ___ _ ___
| __ |/ ` / __/ __| | |/ _
| | | | (
| _
__ _| | () |
|
| ||_,|/()_|___/

Our Cli:
$ hassio help

debug1: permanently_set_uid: 0/0
core-ssh:~#hassio homeassistant restart

HASSIO RESTART :slight_smile:

RESTART DOES NOT WORK ; trying to restart with a single line

[2.4.4-RELEASE][root’@'pfsense.domain.xx]/root: ssh -i ~/.ssh/opensshhassio [email protected] hassio homeassistant restart
time=“2019-01-16T21:25:59-05:00” level=error msg=“Unexpected server response”
Unexpected server response

HASSIO DOES NOT RESTART :frowning:

TRIED WITH QUOTES ; IT DOES NOT WORK EITHER

[2.4.4-RELEASE][root’@‘pfsense.domain.xx]/root: ssh -i ~/.ssh/opensshhassio root’@'192.168.1.140 ‘hassio homeassistant restart’
time=“2019-01-16T21:29:07-05:00” level=error msg=“Unexpected server response”

HASSIO DOES NOT RESTART :frowning:

Am I missing something to achive a restart with a single line in order to do a script?

Thank you for your help!

cool77

PS I added quotes to some ‘@’ since I’m a new user I can’t add more than 2 links!

Why wouldn’t you just use reverse proxy? Alleviates the need for restarting home assistant or scping the files over.

You can even use reverse proxy right on pfsense.