Restore function with HAOS - What is it actually doing?

I recently installed HAOS on my Raspberry Pi 4. After I got it running, I created a backup, and begun fooling around and adding add-ons and configuring other things.

I mounted an external ext4 HDD, then ended up messing up some configuration with one of the add-ons and decided to do a full restore to that original backup. Unfortunately because of how I mounted the external HDD to the /media/ folder, I lost around 8tb of data because the restore function clears that folder. This sucks, and because I have little experience with Linux, and even less with data recovery, I’m in a bad spot.

I’ve used gddrescue and created a full image of that 8tb disk because I read that’s a smart/safe first step to do. I haven’t touched the drive other than that. My question is, what is happening exactly when HA ‘restores’ its OS? Is it formatting everything? Removing? Copying blank data over it? I don’t really know where to go from here, but these are common questions I’m finding that I can’t find in the HA docs.

A full backup restore does not replace the OS.

It replaces the Docker containers that Home Assistant and (if you have any) Addons run in.

Not sure what you mean by " when HA ‘restores’ its OS". If you do a clean install from the Home Assistant image then yes everything including the OS is wiped and replaced.

I used the installation guide here to install the HAOS. When I said ‘when HA ‘restores’ its OS’ I meant when I use the ‘restore’ function.

What does ‘replaces the Docker containers’ mean exactly? And how would that affect the /media/ folder and all potential data in it or mounted to it?

Using that install method Home Assistant and Addons run in Docker containers. They’re like a package of all the code and dependencies. https://www.docker.com/resources/what-container/ They don’t include an OS like a VM.

Screenshot 2022-08-20 at 12-48-48 What is a Container - Docker