Reverse the reported state of a switch in HA?

Hello,

I am new to HA and my goal is to reverse the reported state of my FortrezZ (WV-01) Water Valve within HA which shows up as a switch (in HA).

The WV-01 Valve is joined to my Vera Hub
I have the latest Vera Integration installed in HA.

The valve is recognized in HA as a switch as entityID “switch.house_main_314”.
HA will open and close the valve by toggling the switch toggle in HA, however the state shows as reversed.

Meaning when the valve is CLOSED HA shows the icon and switch toggle as ON, and when the valve is OPEN the icon and switch toggle show as OFF.

I would like is so when the valve is OPEN HA shows as ON, and when CLOSED HA shows as OFF.

Any pointers or examples of would be greatly appreciated.

HA is installed on a QNAP NAS Docker instance:
—-------------------------------------------
Version core-2022.4.7
Installation Type Home Assistant Container
Development false
Supervisor false
Docker true
User root
Virtual Environment false
Python Version 3.9.9
Operating System Family Linux
Operating System Version 5.10.60-qnap
CPU Architecture x86_64
Timezone America/New_York
---------------------————————————

Thank you in advance,

-bh

You can create a template switch to do that.

2 Likes

Thank you, this got me on the right track and got my head screwed on in how HAAS thinks in this situation and now others.

I found a post here that was helpful https://community.home-assistant.io/t/reverse-switch-toggle-state/35120

The template that I used to get my FortrezZ WV-01 showing as a Valve vs a Switch and reversing the state that was incorrectly being reported by HA is as follows:

I placed the below into the configuration.yaml. The HA entity ID for the valve in question is “switch.irrigation_main_314”