RFLink usability?

Hi,

I’ve been playing around with HA for a few weeks now, with the ultimate intention to have it integrate with 433MHz sensors and switches. I’ve tried a few cheap 433Mhz transmitters and receivers (using bruh instructions) but with limited success, I’ve had lots of problems with range and protocols. So I’ve concluded that a more robust solution is required.

The RFLink Gateway (http://www.nemcon.nl/blog2/easyha) looks really interesting, and I see there is a HA Component for it.

If there’s anyone out there using it…

• How do you add a sensor or switch? Does it discover everything or do you need to ‘teach’ it the codes? I’m assuming they show up as entities in HA?

• I’ve never used an Arduino before, its setup appears straightforward, just installing a .hex file from a Windows PC with the RFLink firmware on it. Is there any tinkering required to make it work with HA?

• I see on the RFLink component page that the Arduino shows up as a USB port, how do you find its USB ID?

• Any recommendations for antenna? I only need 20 meters range, but through several walls. Was thinking about buying the dipole kit https://www.nodo-shop.nl/en/rflink-gateway/159-rflink-arduino-dipool.html.

• Is it reasonably reliable? I don’t want to spend (yet) more money on this little project if I have to spend a whole load of time keeping it up or restarting things.

I’ve had reasonably good experience with HA after I initially dabbled with OpenHab - but gave up with it. I’ve got a few bits and bobs integrated so far. The early support for v6 limitlessled milights was a big plus (I’m happy using the milight wifi bridge for this), and I’ve had success getting motion detection working from my Foscam camera (FTP, incron, MQTT). I now want to extend it further, to motion sensors and light switches, without have the huge expense of Z-Wave stuff.

Thanks for any opinions and answers!