Ring Alarm - MQTT Discovery Alarm integration

I’ve seen this topic pop up a few times around the forums so thought I’d mention it here in case there is any interest. I’ve been putzing at this for a month or two and finally have something that sort of works. It’s a semi-functional MQTT alarm setup that integrates with the Ring Alarm system using a fork of a fork of the doorbot repo that I’ve seen referenced here.

Right now it just grabs all of the motion and contact sensors from your Ring system and monitors their status in HA but I’m hoping to improve on it to allow real-time setting of the alarm. Those features (and other interesting stuff) all work in the javascript code in the original repo but I haven’t had the time to integrate them into my mqttAlarm script at present. Be gentle as this is my first time writing javascript and I have not the faintest clue how to convert it into Python as the API integration is far beyond my ability at this point.

7 Likes

An update here for those interested. I’ve pushed a new version to my repo that now monitors the alarm mode (as well as the sensors previously described) and lets you set the alarm mode directly from the sensor that’s created by the MQTT discovery process. I’ve only done some limited testing so far to confirm that it works on a first run and haven’t got it running as a service or anything to know how well it maintains the connection with the Ring servers. But, progress is progress.

3 Likes

Update #2

My latest commits have this to what appear to a functioning state and produces a set of sensors like below. Look at the guidelines on the repo for usage. Let me know if anyone’s interested and I can provide further guidance. I’ve converted my script into a system service on my Hassbian instance and it’s played quite happily with HA so far.

Screenshot%20from%202019-01-05%2020-16-34

3 Likes

I’d love to know how I can integrate this into Hass.io.