Ring Floodlight Cam - Turn Floodlight on and off

Hi guys, I’m new to Home Assistant and just getting my setup done. One of the biggest things I’d like to have though is for my Ring Floodlight cams to be able to have the lights turned on and off via Home Assistant. From some searching here, in discord, and on google, it doesn’t appear that anyone is currently working on this functionality, so I was hoping to build it myself. I found a groovy example of how someone accomplished it on SmartThings, and am currently looking through the Home Assistant code for how switches are programmed in HA. Is anyone with more experience in HA interested in working on this with me? Or even just willing to answer questions as I make my way through it? I think this should be really easy if I could just understand the HA structure a little better. Thanks in advance! and here is the link to the article I’ll be using to build the functionality: https://philipnye.com/2017/12/29/control-your-ring-spotlight-with-alexa-with-smart-things/

So it looks like the PyPI library used for the Ring stuff already has code for turning on the lights. so I shouldn’t even need the groovy script I found. I think I just need to add a ring.py file to either “light” or “switch” and loop through the ring items like they do in the “camera” ring.py and add them.

Not at home to try this right now, but just wanted to post an update. I assume someone else has the ring floodlights or spotlights too and will be interested in this thread. I’ll continue to report back as I make progress.

Also have a couple of Flood Light Cams and would love to see this happen. Looking forward to an update on your progress.