Risky wife wall panel strategy

Hi all, sorry if this is in the wrong category, but I need some advice from the pros…

I’m fairly new to all of this but have a HA set up on USFF PC using proxmox. I have all of my devices set up in home assistant (around 50 now) and haven’t really ventured further than basic use of the devices yet.

I’m wanting to set up a wall panel using a large screen Honor Pad X9 tablet I have just picked up in the black Friday sales.

I have tested fully kiosk browser and it would seem to do the job nicely, but I currently have these 4 smart switches as a bank:

I’m thinking to put 2 x 2 gang smart dimmer modules behind blanking plates and then use the 2 gang space below to put a USB transformer on another smart module to control charging of the tablet. The tablet will then be mounted over the blanking plates.

The bit I’m nervous of is replacing the physical switches with the wall panel and voice alone with how I can get the screen to wake / sleep intuitively. I know Fully Kiosk Browser can use the camera, but unsure how good this works in practice? Any other ideas welcome (I am still quite new beyond setting up basic integrations and some changes to config). It needs to pass the wife test, but she’s accepting of using the screen, but I know this will need to sleep/wake well due to being in the lounge.

I’m starting to think a new wife might be the easiest approach, so any help is appreciated!

FKB works well with motion detection, and the touch on function works well to wake it up in low light conditions.

I have 6 tablets throughout my house all setup this way with FKB, and no wife complaints.

Welcome and good luck.

1 Like

FKB motion detection works well if there is sufficient light. What I do is:

• Use motion detection through the tablet camera (using FKB) when the light level in the room is sufficient.
  • If there is insufficient light then turn the screen on when there is motion in the room.