Roomba coordinates and map

I have an iRobor Roomba 960 (R960020). Not even in the app I am able to see a map while vacuuming or sending the robot to a particular destination. However, AFTER a job has been done, it shows the map.

Now with the iRobot integration when I click on the entity vacuum.roomba, I see under attributes:

Position: (110, 23, 6)

While vacuuming, this position changes in real-time. So it seems the position is reported to Home Assistant!

• Which units are these coordinates?
  • Is it possible to use this data somehow? How can I get access to the “attributes” of an entity?
  • Is it possible to show these coordinates on a (calibrated) floorplan?

How did you integrate it? IIUC, rest980 should allow you to see the map real-time.

Sending robot to specific coordinates – I am not sure if the dorita980 allows that. The same applies to software-defined virtual walls. However, it seems that some functions (e.g., software-defined virtual walls; i7 has it, i3 doesn’t) are allowed only in some model. I think it is related to the navigation methods – if developers are confident enough about the navigation, they allow you doing more.

I just use the normal iRobot Roomba integration in HA (see iRobot Roomba and Braava - Home Assistant). Not rest980. As I said, even this normal (cloud based, I assume) integration reports the coordinates, so a map should be possible.

I am actually getting confused with all these projects: The Roomba extension I mentioned above, dorita980, rest980. Then there is GitHub - jeremywillans/ha-rest980-roomba: HA iRobot Roomba Configuration using rest980. What is the best & recommended way to integrate a 960 (R9660020) into HA and which package(s) should I chooses?

The best way definitely depends on your needs.

a. Maybe you want to make a simple automation that starts cleaning on some event and control everything else via the official app. In this case, anything that can start your Roomba might be good enough.