RS232 logging of well water level monitor

I’m currently using an ESP8266 interfacing with an Eno Scientific Well Watch 670 ( Well Watch 670 - Eno Scientific ) to monitor the water level in my well. I’m a beginner with all this so I started off by just using the 0-5v analog output, which works well enough, but the device offers an RS232 output through RX and TX terminals which would be more accurate than the analog output. I am trying to understand how to make this interface.

The device makes a reading every 1s and continuously reports that as plaintext RS232 output, do some light processing on that output, and report it as a sensor/store it. I do not need to transmit any data from ESP->Sensor, only read the continuous output. If I’m understanding correctly, I would want to use the ESPHome logger component with TX: GPIO1, RX: GPIO3, but that’s about as far as I’ve gotten. I’m not sure how to translate this into a sensor entity. Ultimately, my desire is for it to get the readings into InfluxDB as my current analog sensor integration does.

Can anyone help me take the next step?

Here Custom UART Text Sensor — ESPHome

Hey beehivemind,

I just purchased well watch 670. When you get it working, let me know your setup? I’m kinda a newbie. I never used ESP before. Thanks!

-g

I got it working and I love it. The WW670 is an excellent product and the Eno Scientific support very helpful.

One thing you need to know is that the RS232 output of the WW670 is higher voltage than the TTL interface of the ESP8266. So you will need something like this to convert between the two: