Russound MCA C5 Tuner

This is my first attempt at using Home Assistant, I am moving over from OpenHAB but struggling to figure out how to use my Russound MCA C5 via the RIO protocol.

I have linked the Russound and have a listing of zone cards, I am able to change the source of each zone. However when I select the Tuner source I am unable to change the radio station that is built into the Russound controller.

Has anyone done this before? If so how were you able to accomplish it?

Did you ever come up with a solution? I just bought one of these used and would really like to get stations.

Actually, I would love to get anywhere. I don’t have the software for the Russound yet :frowning:

Unfortunately I have not been able to get this working and am having an issue of the Russound disappearing from HA at random intervals. Anywhere from 2 minutes to 2 hours.

Interestingly, I am having the same issue. Seems the network connection will suddenly go south and nothing will connect to it after that. The only way I get it to reconnect is to power cycle the Russound. I tried an automation to ping one of the zones to check volume and it didn’t seem to work.

However, I left it connected via USB, RS232 AND Ethernet when I left for work this morning and have been checking it all day and it hasn’t gone down once. Hmmm.

I really thought that it was the Russound hardware. Not sure.

This is what I’m running to ping it every 5 minutes (which I got from another post here and modified it)

- alias: Russound Ping
  initial_state: True
  trigger:
    - platform: time_pattern
      minutes: "/5"
  action:
   - service: media_player.office
     data_template:
       entity_id: media_player.office
       volume_level: '{{ states.media_player.office.attributes.volume_level }}'

Oh, and I had the Russound SCS-C5 software running and connected this whole time.

@samgreco