Scraping COVID-19 stats from Canadian gov't website

Hey everyone. I’ve written a python script to scrape the covid-19 data for my local region(s) from the Canadian government’s website (because I have no clue how to use the scrape sensor).

It all works great when I run it as my HA user from within my python virtual environment. However, when I try to set it up as a command line sensor, it doesn’t work and I’m not sure why.

Here is the script itself. If you’re Canadian, this might be useful to you as well, if we can get it working. Just keep in mind that I’m no python developer, most of it has been cobbled together with bits from StackOverflow :slight_smile:

import json
from bs4 import BeautifulSoup
import urllib.request

webrequest = urllib.request.urlopen("https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/diseases/2019-novel-coronavirus-infection.html")
html_bytes = webrequest.read()
html_data = html_bytes.decode("utf8")
webrequest.close()

header = ">Current situation</h2>"
start_table = "<table>"
end_table = "</table>"
header_start = html_data.find(header) + len(header)
table_start = html_data[header_start].find(start_table) + len(start_table) + header_start
table_end = html_data[table_start:].find(end_table) + len(end_table)

table = html_data[table_start:table_start+table_end]
rows = BeautifulSoup(table, "html.parser")("tr")
datarows = rows[1:]
data = [[cell.text for cell in row("td")] for row in rows[1:]]

dumpdata = dict()
for row in data:
    dumpdata[row[0].lower().replace(" ", "_")] = {
        "confirmed": row[1].replace("\n", "").replace(" ", "").replace(",", ""),
        "probable": row[2].replace("\n", "").replace(" ", "").replace(",", ""),
        "deaths": row[3].replace("\n", "").replace(" ", "").replace(",", "")
    }

json_data = json.dumps(dumpdata)
print(json_data)

When run on the command line, it outputs exactly what I want; basically just a JSON dictionary of all the provinces and their confirmed, probable, and death numbers: