Secure Remote Access - Best Method? What Am I Not Understanding?

I have read countless topics here and on other sites trying to get a better grip on successfully implementing secure remote access. I am getting nowhere fast!!! I have had a hell of a time getting the DuckDNS and LetsEncrypt access to work at all. Did a fresh install of HA last night to try and start over. Will likely have to do that again tonight since my access is nowhere to be found. I have read many posts with others also running into a bunch of problems. I feel like I am doing all the steps correctly. Although in fairness, many of the topics I have been using for reference are a few months old.

Bare with me because I am a bit ignorant regarding a lot of this. Trying to learn as quickly as possible but would really appreciate your help to setup a rock solid system. Before I get a bunch of devices working and getting automations started, I want the most important part of this setup (secure remote access and notifications) to be done correctly.

My setup is Hass.io on a RaPi3 wired to the router

• Is there an up-to-date community page regarding the complete (and detailed) process for getting this to work using DuckDNS & LetsEncrypt? Is this the community standard?

• Is this even necessary to incorporate secure remote access? Are there other methods to try that are just as good or better?

• My router control panel has a built in Dynamic DNS setup with a different DNS site (dnsdynamic.com). Could I potentially use this instead of DuckDNS? I imagine I would still need to setup the port forwarding correctly anyway.

• Would a VPN setup be a more secure setup ultimately for remote access? What is the pros & cons of a VPN setup versus DuckDNS/LetsEncrypt and vice versa?

On hass.io it’s easy and all you should need to accomplish that task is to install that add-on:
addons/duckdns/README.md at master ¡ home-assistant/addons ¡ GitHub

Alter the add-on options to use your DuckDNS token and domain:

{