Securing Your Home Assistant Instance

I was reading a post about a security issue on another home automation platform and was going to provide a few links in the thread as people often read these threads and look for advice on how to ensure they are secure. I found my own past post on the issue lacking and the HA docs somewhat lacking or the information was really dispersed. This is my attempt to put a guide together and collect the information in one location.

Note: I am far from a security expert and I have no formal training in this area. The information in this guide is what I have gathered from my own use of Home Assistant and my research to secure it and other web services on my network. I am expecting the community to correct me where I am wrong or where the guide could be improved and will do my best to keep it up to date.

Scope and Directory of Contents

This guide will focus on securing a Home Assistant (HA) installation exposed to the greater internet. There are a number of ways to accomplish this but they all expose your HA front end/User Interface (UI) to anyone with an internet connection.

This guide will cover the core of HA and access to the HA Frontend/User Interface. There are other areas to be considered but I have a feeling this guide is going to be big enough as is without going into securing other services that can be exposed via HA.

I don’t intend this to be a how-to guide on every item discussed, for the most part there are really good guides developed on most of these topics by the community. I will link to them where I am aware of them and encourage you to share a link for a guide you find useful.