Sending list of all devices in a notification message

Hi,
I am quite new to home assistant and already got quite a lot working. I am now trying to list all my devices every 5 minutes towards Telegram. The telegram bot works fine and also the devices are scanned frequently, but what I can’t figure out is how I would go through all my devices and send them in the message. My Automation attempt is below, but I have no idea how the create the message (thats why there are now just question marks).

Any advice would be appreciated.

- id: '1534004396541'
  alias: Notify all devices to Telegram every 5 minutes 
trigger:
  - platform: time
    minutes: /5
  condition: []
  action:
  - data:
      message: ?? List all device in group.all_devices with indication away or home ?? 
    service: telegram_bot.send_message

Hi @john2014, you can play with it in Developer Tools / Templates.

{% for device in states.device_tracker %}
{{ device.name }} is {{ device.state }}  
{%- endfor %}

@VDRainer ty so much! You got me in the right direction

I made this now, works like a charm. Shows both the online and offline devices.

action:
  - data_template:
{% if state.state_with_unit == 'home' %}{{ state.name | lower }}, {% endif %}{% endfor %}

Away: {% for state in states.device_tracker -%}
{% if state.state_with_unit == 'not_home' %}{{ state.name | lower }}, {% endif %}{% endfor %}"
1 Like

FYI, here is another way to achieve the same thing:

action:
  - data_template:
        Home: {{ states.device_tracker|selectattr('state','eq','home')|map(attribute='name')|join(', ') }}
        Away: {{ states.device_tracker|selectattr('state','eq','not_home')|map(attribute='name')|join(', ') }}

In your solution I’d suggest changing:

{% if state.state_with_unit == 'home' %}

to:

{% if state.state == 'home' %}

Same thing for the ‘not_home’ case.

2 Likes

@pnbruckner thanks for the improvement!

Just wondering what is that difference between .state and .state_with_unit?

and what does “|-” do?