Serious z-wave problems

Hi
I have been running Home Assistant for several months now, and I’m very pleased! But:
I have some serious z-wave problems.

Sometimes, when I restart hassio, it starts, but there are very few devices that show up. The rest are logged as unknown.
Sometimes z-wave network doesn’t start at all.
Sometimes it starts and everything looks fine from the beginning, but:

Z-wave is extremely slow for some devices, but not for all.
Yesterday, turning on some LEDs via a qubino dimmer took several minutes (at least that’s what it seemed like).
Today, the same LEDs react immediately.
Starting the z-wave network also takes a long time, 15-20 minutes.
I have about 50 devices. Almost all are directly “visible” from the controller.
The controller is placed in my basement and is at the center of my house.
I’ve tried connecting the controller, Aeotec stick5, direcly to my computer (Intel i5 NUC running Debian 9 stretch) as well as via a 1 meter USB extension cord.
The stick is the only thing that I know that is operating at the z-wave frequency.
I’ve tested with two different Aeotec sticks.
I’ve tried testing and healing the network.
Please, I need some advice so I can start searching for a solution!
Helge

Have you added any new devices lately?

Try connecting directly to the USB port. Ive had issues with these extension cables before.

How many of your zwave devices are powered vs. battery operated? The ZWave protocol uses powered devices to create a mesh network for better and more reliable covered.

I had it connected directly up until a few days ago when I tried it on an extension cable. The behavoiur is the same. I’ve tried two extension cables, so I think (at least hope) that they’re ok.

I have about 20 battery operated, mostly wall controllers and PIR sensors. They seem to behave ok.