Server got itself in trouble with creating account

Hi,

I’m new to home assistant.
I installed it on my raspberry pi3b but i’m already stuck on creating a user.

Nothing happens when i click create account.
In F12 console it says error 500 Internal Server Error\n\nServer got itself in trouble.

I tried this on my PC with firefox and internet explorer, on my phone, on my laptop with edge, i keep getting the same error.
Already tried http:// , IP adress instead of http://homeassistant.local:8123/onboarding and reinstalling
The 20min preparing before it also took way longer.

What am i doing wrong ? or what could be the issue ?

1 Like

I’m having the same issue. I tried power cycling it and then it takes me to login but when i check the users there are no users created…

I just got past it… For what ever reason i created an account with the name: admin user: admin password:adminadmin and it let me create the account… Once i got in i changed the credentials.

great ! this actually worked for me to, thx !

Just a guess: something with a character in the user/pw that is not allowed?

probably, when i changed my login in settings it said i couldnt use a capital letter in my login
It didn’t say that when i tried to create an account after a fresh install, nothig happens when i clicked create account, no error
Capital letters and symbols do work in pw, just not login i guess

I have been very close to repeatedly banging my head on every wall in sight trying to figure this out off and on the past week. Changing everything to “admin” 100% worked. If it is an issue with capital letters or special characters not allowed in the username, that definitely needs to be laid out on the on-boarding screen.

Thank you very much for sharing, it solves the same problem for me too after trying over and over again.