Setting the data proprty in a "Call service" node

I am an experienced home automation person and primarily use Homeseer and Vera, but am just learning about HomeAssistant and am a complete newbie with Node-RED. I have Node-RED working on HomeAssistant and am trying to control the Intesis thermostat add-in.

I’m able to use Node-RED to turn the thermostats on and off, but they turn on in “Auto” mode, and I want to turn them on in “Cool” or “Heat” mode specifically. The Intesis add-in is running in the “climate” domain (am I saying that correctly?) and in the Service dropdown menu in Node-RED it shows me an option to call “set_hvac_mode”. I can enter an entity ID to identify which thermostat I want to control - let’s say it’s “climate.mbr”. I assume to complete the configuration properly I need to provide some info in the “Data” field to tell Node-RED which mode I want to use.

I think the add-in will recognize the modes “heat” and “cool” because when I ask the add-in to return status info on my climate devices to me it returns the following json fields:

{"entity_id": "climate.mbr", "state": "off", "attributes": {"hvac_modes": ["heat_cool", "heat", "dry", "fan_only", "cool", "off"],

… and so on

So I assume I need to include in the Node-RED data field the word “cool”. But simply putting the word in the data field doesn’t do anything, whether I define the field as using a JSON format or an Expression format.

So - my two questions are:

1. Are my assumptions above generally correct, and if not what mistakes am I making?

2. If they are the correct assumptions, how do I format the Node-RED data field to tell the add-in I want to set the mode to “cool” (or “heat”)?

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide, and sorry if I’m not understanding the basic concepts in Node-RED.

IMO it’s not about NR concepts but about API available dedicated to change settings as well as the device features/limitations.