Setting up bluetooth proxy with M5 Atom Echo voice assistant

I’m just getting started with HA Green. I have already set up an M5 Atom Echo as a voice assistant, and would like to try to also use it as a bluetooth proxy, as described in this post:
https://community.home-assistant.io/t/m5-atom-echo-voice-assistant-with-bluetooth-proxy/617596

Based on the comment marked as the solution for that post, it sounds like this could be possible, but I’m having trouble pinning down exactly how/where to modify the YAML or where to go from there.

I took a stab at this by adding the configuration lines that worked for OP (mentioned here) to my /homeassistant/configuration.yaml.

After saving those changes, nothing seems to be breaking, so maybe that’s good? But uh, yeah, I don’t know wth I’m doing. Like is that even the right place to make those changes – or if it is the right place, what do I do next so I can use it…

Any advice would be appreciated.

The provided configuration doesn’t go into the HA configuration.yaml…it goes into the configuration YAML file for the ESP device inside the ESPhome add-on (or local ESPhome if you have it setup somewhere else).

If you used the blog guide, it looks like that is using the ESPhome web interface to flash a pre-compiled firmware. To do what you want, you’ll need to go the “advanced users” route. At a high level:

1. Install the ESPhome add-on (this is different than the integration)
  2. Click “+ new device”
  3. Hit continue
  4. Give it a name
  5. Select “ESP32” from the list
  6. Click “Skip”
  7. Click “Edit” in the box for the new device
  8. Copy/paste the code “for advanced users” that’s in Github: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/esphome/firmware/main/voice-assistant/m5stack-atom-echo.yaml
  9. Scroll to the bottom and add these two lines:
bluetooth_proxy:
  active: true
  1. Click on “Save”
  2. Click on “Install” and select the “Manual Download” option. Wait for the firmware to compile.