Setting up DNS within custom port

Hi Guys, I’m quite new with HA and I’m running it on a Raspberry Pi 3. At the moment I am busy with remote access. However I try to set it up using DuckDNs and NGINX. In the process of Port Forwarding I get stuck. The port is normally set to 433 but that port is already in use. How can i change this?

Change the external port on the router or where? Your question isn’t clear.

Sorry for me not being clear.
I’m setting up my DNS via DuckDNS. However the incoming port is set by default to 443.
This port is already in use at my wifi network for my Synology-server, which is a seperate device than where my HA runs on(Raspberry). I use this port for the https link with the server.
So my problem is, in normal condition you port forward port 443(DuckDNS) to your HA. However this port is already in use. Is there any possibility that I can change the port to a different port since port 443 is already in use?
pls let me know if the problem is clear right now, because these things are quite new to me and I’m having a bit of a struggle to explain the situation haha
thank you anyhow in advance!!

You can select any port you wish to forward to home assistant.

That being said, if you’re using letsencrypt which requires 443 then you need to use a DNS challenge instead. Not sure if that’s your issue though.

How can i check whether im using letsencrypt ?

What certificate are you trying to use with home assistant?

Oh I see, I am using NGINX and that is based on SSL Proxy, which is letsencrypt right?

You can use any certificate authority you want. But lots of people use letsencrypt. And you can use any port forwards you want. But you’ll likely need a dns challenge.

ok… thanks for the info. This is a bit unkown territory for me. Do you know how to do this? I’d like to change the port that is being used by DuckDNS, for accessing HA…