Setting up Home Assistant with InfluxDB/Grafana/Telegraf - Docker vs HA OS

Hi,

I am brand new to Home Assistant, but am reasonably experienced using Grafana and InfluxDB together for data monitoring. I have installed the Home Assistant OS on my Raspberry Pi 3B+ onto an external SSD connected by USB to the Pi.

In the past, I have set up InfluxDB and Grafana in Docker containers, and have configured Telegraf to run as a service. This means I could log all the health statistics of the Pi to InfluxDB (such as disk usage, CPU usage, etc). Now I would like to also log some data from home assistant as well (such as states of switches, and sensors, etc). So basically I want to pipe information into InfluxDB - some of which is directly from sensors in HA, but also some of it which has nothing to do with HA.

However, now that I am running the Home Assistant OS I’m not sure if it’s possible to run InfluxDB/Grafana/Telegraf in the background, and keep full control over them? (I know they can be installed as Add Ons). I would like to know if I’m barking up the wrong tree with this approach, and if I should instead be looking at running Home Assistant / Grafana / InfluxDB all in Docker containers (and not use the OS)?

I look forward to any advice that anyone can offer (it was difficult to find useful information online about this particular use case).

Thanks

Hi,

HASSOS can provide the RPI info (as can Glances). I run HASSOS/Grafana/Influx - here’s a bit of one of my dashboards.

Thanks Neil, that’s helpful to know that some data can be scraped.

I am still interested in the best way to go about it though. I have other systems that collect data that I don’t want to (or am unable to) pass through Home Assistant. There are also a bunch of other Telegraf plug-ins that I want to continue using. (Not to mention custom naming of measurements, to make the schema more easily accessible in Grafana).

Hi,