Setup Hass.io with build in Mosquito MQTT

Hey there,

I am pretty new to Home Assistant and have one or more question to MQTT.
I set up my HASSIO with duckdns and let’s encrypt which works like a charm.

Now I want to play with owntracks.
That is what I did so far:

1. Open port 8883 on my router

2. installed Mosquito MQTT in HASSIO with follwing configuration:

3. configured owntracks on my android phone

4. set up zones/ regions in owntracks and home assistant

{
    “plain”: false,
    “ssl”: true,
    “anonymous”: false,
    “logins”: [
    {
    “username”: “”,
    “password”: “”
    }
    ],
    “customize”: {
    “active”: false,
    “folder”: “mosquitto”
    },
    “certfile”: “fullchain.pem”,
    “keyfile”: “privkey.pem”
    }

Here my MQTT part in the configuration.yaml:

mqtt:
  broker: <mydomain.duckdns.org>
  port: 8883
  username: <myuser>
  password: <mypassword>
  discovery: True
device_tracker:
- platform: owntracks
- platform: fritz
    track_new_devices: false

My Owncloud Configuration:

MQTT Privat
Host
  <mydomain.duckdns.org>
   websockets no
Identification
  <myuser>
  <mypassword>
  Device ID: MyPhone
Security
  TLS enabled

Should this work with my let’s encrypt certificates?
Do I need certificates on my phone for using owntracks?
How can I see data in Home Assistant which should be published by owntracks?
How can I test if Home Assistant get´s informations from owntracks?
Owntracks on the phone says it entered my “home” region, but how can I see that in Home Assistant?

I think the documentation on that part is not that helpfull, at least for me.
I am wiling to improve this if I understand everything better.

Different MQTT implementations use different ports. Mosquito uses 1883, not 8883 bt default. Try opening that up on your router instead. Get Mosquitto working first, then work on other program add-ons that usr it.