Share your favourite or most useful automations

Hello! I’ve just recently moved into a new home with “normal” light bulb sockets, which has given me the drive to jump into home automation. My old house had strange light sockets which aren’t catered to by smart bulb manufacturers.

I would love to hear about peoples favourite, most useful or simply cool automations. So what are some of the highlights in your systems that have added a good deal of convenience, that you find extremely useful or that are simply cool?

I’m a software developer by trade, so hopefully I will be able to make some meaningful contributions to the community in the future!

I have a few, mainly based around lights and switches at the moment but as I get more stuff it should expand:

Turn the Lounge lights on at sunset
Turn the main light in the Nursery on at bedtime and then switch to the Fairy lights in the Nursery 30 minutes later.
Turn the hall light on when I’m home (and play the welcome home Marty sample from back to the future 2, i know…)
Turn various fans on if the temp goes above 25c
Turn everything in the lounge off at 11:30, this is because i am prone to fall asleep watching TV
If power goes above *kW turn off some devices that aren’t needed (i usually have more computers on than I need)
Morning automation - This turns the main bedroom light on at 6am, starts the coffee brewing and turns the TV on downstairs for the news. Want to add more to this but the wife’s not keen!

I’ve only just started with automation’s so would really like to see what everyone else does!

I’m just starting out and have an issue with my lights turning on at sunset. Could you share the config. I’m working by trial and error and it’s taking time.

Love the BTTF greeting and think I need that in my life too!

Check here, first to automation are for sunrise/sunet. Should get you started.
https://github.com/SilvrrGIT/HomeAssistant/blob/master/automation/outside_Lights.yaml