Shelly 1L Wiring for Two Way Switch - how?

I want to install a Shelly 1L in my hallway which has two lights both controlled by two switches. As far as I can tell, there are two ways that two-way switching can my done. My situation is the one on the right in this diagram (one switch with permanent live, other with switched live wired to common). https://www.downlights.co.uk/media/FAQs/wiring-example-2-way-switches.jpg

I’ve searched for hours trying to get my head around how to wire the Shelly in and I’m pretty sure my answer lies in this diagram from the Shelly Facebook Support Group: Log into Facebook | Facebook

I’m a competent amateur electronics hobbyist so I understand the basics. But Perhaps I’ve been looking at wiring diagrams for too long cause I just can’t work out what goes where.

Can anyone in simple terms explain what I need to do to get from where I am now to having the Shelly in place?

2 Likes

New day and a fresh pair of eyes I got this sorted!

I’ve had my fair share of confusion about this too (and I have a degree in engineering (not practicing), but I’m not an electrician). I too have a 2-way hallway switch that need to be made smart at some point. Care to share what you went with? The FB diagram? First or second one?

Yes of course. This diagram from the Facebook link is correct.

The confusing part for me was that the second switch requires moving L2 to Common which seemed counterintuitive to me. But in this two-way wiring setup it does make sense.

To clarify the steps (which in some ways is much easier to comprehend than interpreting the diagram):

Switch 1 (with permanent live)

• Disconnect permanent live from common and connect to L of the Shelly 1L
  • Connect a jumper wire from O on the Shelly to L1 on the switch (note leave the existing L1 wire in place)
  • Disconnect L2 from the switch and connect to SW1 on the Shelly
  • Connect a jumper wire from SW2 on the Shelly to Common on the switch

Switch 2 (with switched live)