Show/Hide dependent on state of device

Forgive me if this is in the wrong place. I’m fairly new at this and after fussing with HA for the past week, I finally got it to work!

So now I’m doing some cleaning up… I have a slew of Google Home devices that I set hidden: true in the customize.yaml file so that when I log in, my overview isn’t overrun with all those devices.

I wanted to write a script so that if one of those devices is playing, it will show in the overview.

Is that even possible? If so, how do I write that script?

1 Like

Yes this is totally possible and is funny that you wrote this because I was going to share a package tonight with something similar but with my 3D printers.

You need to create a group containing the entities that you want to hide and then set the visibility of the group with an automation like so…

automation:

- id: a_show_cr10
  alias: Show CR10
  trigger:
    platform: state
    entity_id: switch.cr10_16
    to: 'on'
  action:
    service: group.set_visibility
    entity_id: group.cr10_information
    data:
      visible: True

And then to hide it you would have another automation that set visible to false

In your case it would be something like

- id: show_google_home
  alias: Show Google Home
  trigger:
    platform: state
    entity_id: media_player.your_google_home
    to: 'playing'
  action:
    service: group.set_visibility
    entity_id: group.google_homes
    data:
      visible: True
1 Like

Ok, I must be doing something wrong here, cause. This is what I did so far without adding the automation in…

In my customization.yaml

Blockquote
media_player.family_room_speaker:
  friendly_name: Insiginia Google Assistant
  icon: mdi:google-home
media_player.loft_speaker:
  friendly_name: Google Chromecast Audio
  icon: mdi:google-chrome
media_player.master_bedroom_speaker:
  friendly_name: Google Mini - Master Bedroom
media_player.office_speaker:
  friendly_name: Google Mini - Office
media_player.all_speakers: