Show system stats from your various local network Raspberry Pies

If you’re like me, you have several of these pies running around your house performing various tasks and making your life easier :slight_smile: However they need your love and attention, too!

So I created a script that runs in each pi. The script publishes to my HASS MQTT broker some basic system data so I know its health and activity.

You can find the code script I wrote for this purpose at https://github.com/andres-leon/rbp-mqtt-stats.

Looking forward to your comments and ideas. One taht comes to mind is to create automations that would actually notify me when one of the Pies is failing, running out of disk space, cpu getting too hot, etc. I’m still learning HASS so that is a little out of my league right now.

Thanks!

7 Likes

I’ve been doing this using the Glances sensors, but this is a neat approach too.

Thank you. Had I known about this I might have used it… :slight_smile:

1 Like

But you exposed a whole new approach that may also open up new use cases for others.

All I did was read a doc. LOL…

Can you please tell how do you display value in home-assistant. I was able to get the values in raspberry pi y running the py file but i am not getting anything when i put it in sensors.yaml file. I am using the conf -

• platform: mqtt
    state_topic: “rp/status1”
    name: “RP1 Status”
    value_template: ‘{{ value_json.status }}’

Still learning home-assistant.

I’m covering this with Glances and well, not perfect but it provides me notifications when Pis are going down or are overloaded with no issues.

Fighting a little with Openelec as I can’t find a way to install Glances on it.

I’m going to try this solution.

Thank you for sharing!!?

Take a look at https://github.com/andres-leon/rbp-mqtt-stats/blob/master/systemdata.py#L48