Simple if/then for automations

I’m new to HA, but not new to programming or home automation in general.

I’m having trouble creating a simple automation that can make a decision based on the current value of some blinds that I’m automating that respond to a button push. (The button push part works great, but trying to do this via separate automations causes conflicts between them and incorrect results…so I’d rather have just one automation take care of it.)

Anyways, it’s a multi-use button push that, when the state is partially open (value 58), will tell the blinds to open fully (value 100) and vice versa. (I have other buttons on my remote for close, etc)

I’ve cobbled together this automation together based on going through the community forums and some of the docs, but it causes a config error when I reload it in HA. Not sure how to get this working. Any help would be appreciated, thanks! :slight_smile:

- id: '1562484782659'
  alias: Hue - Blinds Open Dual-Action
  trigger:
  - entity_id: sensor.main_space_switch
    platform: state
  condition:
  - condition: state
    entity_id: sensor.main_space_switch
    state: 1_click_up
  action:
  - entity_id: cover.kitchen_1
    service: cover.set_cover_position
    data_template: 
      position:  
        {% if (state_attr(''cover.kitchen_1'', ''current_position'')|int) == 58 %} 100
        {% else %} 58 {% endif %}

The line position: needs to be position: >

In addition though, your trigger and condition are a bit long winded, and could be…

- id: '1562484782659'
  alias: Hue - Blinds Open Dual-Action
  trigger:
    to: '1_click_up' 
  action:
    data_template: 
      position: >
        {% if (state_attr('cover.kitchen_1' , 'current_position')|int) == 58 %} 100
        {% else %} 58 {% endif %}
1 Like

most likely the cause of your error was the missing > that @anon43302295 pointed out. That would lead to an error about an empty field.