Slider to set minutes in a timer (not a delay)

hi to all , i’m new in the HA word.
I’m trying to set the value of a timer using a slider

i’ve got a look to this topic, but it’s different…

here the code i’ve tryed without success…

input_number:
  slider:
    name: stairs_light
    icon: mdi:clock-start
    initial: 10
    min: 0
    max: 15
    step: 1

timer:
  stairs_light_timer:
    duration: '00:{{ states.input_number.stairs_light.state | int }}:00'  

and this is the error that refound the control of configuration

Invalid config for [timer]: offset 00:{{ states.input_number.stairs_light.state | int }} should be format 'HH:MM' or 'HH:MM:SS' for dictionary value @ data['timer']['stairs_light_timer']['duration']. Got '00:{{ states.input_number.stairs_light.state | int }}'

Can anybody help me?
thanks

I suspect data typing, in that HH:MM:SS is a string, and states.input_number.stairs_light.state|int is an integer.

Yeah i’m not sure that’s going to work indeed. And from the docs it doesn’t look like you can set a timer’s value programmatically…
The other way round would be to create an automation that runs every sec (potentially a resource killer) which has a condition to check whether the time since you initiated a virtual timer (input_boolean) is more than the tdureation set by your slider.
Maybe even have an automation that activates that previous automation when you turn the input_boolean on and one that turns the automation off when the input_boolean is turned off?

As mentioned above, you can’t use a template to set the initial timer duration. However, you can use a template to set the timer’s duration when you start it using the timer.start service. E.g.:

- service: timer.start
    entity_id: timer.stairs_light_timer
    data_template:
      duration: >
        {{ states('input_number.slider')|int|multiply(60)
             |timestamp_custom('%X',false) }}