Slow response (?) of Sonoff ZBMiniL2

Hi community. I have recently installed my first Zigbee device, a Sonoff ZBMiniL2 (light) switch. Although installing and pairing the device went flawless, I feel like the response time is a bit slow. When I turn on the switch via Home Assistant, it takes about a second for the light to turn on.

Because I have never used Zigbee before, I’d like to ask the following question:

Would you consider a response time of about 1 second to be reasonable?

If not, do you have any suggestions for improving the response time of the device, aside from device positioning? For context, my Home Assistant setup runs in a virtual machine (UTM) on a M1 Mac Mini. My Zigbee devices are connected through a Sonoff Zigbee 3.0 USB, using ZHA.

Something else that might be important to consider is the response time of my Philips Hue Zigbee motion sensor, which is my second Zigbee device. Motion is detected pretty much instantly, i.e. by judging how quickly the state changes in Home Assistant. So this would lead me to believe that the problem is not necessarily the positioning of my devices and the Zigbee signal strength; both devices are in the same room, about 3 meters away from the Zigbee USB hub (with one wall in between).

Thanks for reading!

Well, it depends. One second is certainly not instant but was often what I got with different brands of devices when I still used zigbee.

Nowadays I only male use of wifi devicrs running esphome with thw native api. That way everything is instant (for human brains) and no lags at all.

Thanks for your reply. I wonder though, many people recommend Zigbee specifically because it does not use WiFi. Why have you decided to stick with WiFi instead of Zigbee? Primarily because of the (lack of) lag?