Smart Thermostat Recommendations for 2021

I’m sure this has been discussed, but I didn’t find what I was looking for using the search function.

I’m new to home automations, and seeking the best hardware for my desired setup. I’m currently looking for advice on a smart thermostat that DOES NOT require internet connection for local LAN access.

I’d like to be able to use an app on multiple devices (tablet, phone, and/or PC) on my LAN to adjust thermostat settings, and I’d like to leave the internet out of it.

I’ve been eyeballing the EcoBee, but from what I’ve read it says it requires a connection to the internet.

For devices that do NOT require Internet cloud access, the Zigbee & Z-Wave standards are designed for local mesh network connection with no Internet access needed.

1 Like

Thank you for the reply and input. I’ve done a fair amount of research and homework on the Zigbee and Z-wave networks over the past few hours, and I’m still not convinced to use it over WiFi.

Do most WiFi devices inherently require a connection to a cloud-based server and not permit a local-traffic only functionality?

Thanks in advance!

Z Wave and Zigbee aren’t wifi in the traditional sense. They are local only networks that you can use on a local wifi network. Somehow you have to get the signal from the phone to the device, like a light. This works by using a hub like Homeassistant on a Raspberry Pi and having the phone and the RPi be on the same network, you could pull your WAN connection and everything would still work…

1 Like

When I started home automation i wanted local access too. Being a Wi-Fi engineer I know the 2.4GHz wireless space used by all smart home Wi-Fi devices is inherently prone to interference from all sorts of devices, including microwave ovens. I ended up buying a combo zigbee / z-wave stick for the US and tried Z-Wave. I have not pursued Zigbee or Wi-fi beyond the Amazon plug I was given as a gift.