SMTP not working (doesn't show up as service)

Hi,

I tried setting up the SMTP service for email notifications etc. but I just can’t get it to work.
Below is the current code I have in the config. I tried variations of that (as found in some threads) as well, but nothing has worked. I also tried gmail, without any luck.

The service never shows up as a notify.xxx service and therefore can’t be used.

Any ideas what might be the problem?

(I am not a developer and don’t have a lot of experience with coding. So far I got pretty much everything I needed running on HA, but this seemingly easy service just won’t work. Please excuse me if I’m overlooking something obvious.)

Thanks!

notify:
  - name: "email_gmx"
    platform: smtp
    server: "mail.gmx.net"
    port: 587
    timeout: 15
    sender: "***********@gmx.de"
    encryption: starttls
    username: "**************@gmx.de"
    password: "*************"
    recipient:
      - "*********@gmx.de"
    sender_name: "Home Assistant"

Check that your ISP isn’t blocking outgoing mail ports. Some do as spam prevention.

Besides what @tom_l said, first check the log for smtp errors.
You should at least be able to try to send a notification.

I also am having this exact problem, is there any resolution?

You need to send the mail to a different account not to yourself. GMX has disabled that since June 2022. Had the same issue ( notify not showing in services ). Once I set it up like this it worked again.

notify:
  - name: "mailgmx"
    platform: smtp
    server: mail.gmx.net
    port: 587
    timeout: 15
    sender: "*********@gmx.net"
    encryption: starttls
    username: **********@gmx.net
    password: ************
    #cannot be send to self
    recipient: "someuser@*********.net"
    sender_name: "Home Assistant Notifier"

But why does it not appear as a service in developer tools? Or it only appears when is working?