So confused by thread setup on HA Yellow

I’m new to thread, but thought I was smart to purchase new smart blinds with Matter support.

I have the following:
-HA Yellow
-Nest Hubs

I have Zigbee working fine (ZHA) with several devices (lights, temp sensors).

I spent hours trying to understand how to get a thread border router working and if I need new hardware or note. In HA Yellow documentation they say to disable Zigbee which I don’t want to do, because I have Zigbee devices (which are also hard to access so I don’t want to go re-pair them)… It seems I might be able to get multi-protocol support working but I can’t find any clear instructions on how to do it. If I try and add OTBR integration it asks me for a Rest API Url, which I don’t have - I don’t understrand how to get this from Nest, and don’t see why I need it if I can use the HA Yellow radios…

So, I’m very confused! What’s a simple, cheap way to get OTBR working on my HA Yellow? Should I buy a Sky connect or Sonoff ZBDongle-E and set it up with thread only firmware? Or can I make what I have work?

thank you!

Thread is a wireless IP networking standard, analogous to WiFi. The main differences are that it is low-power, to better suit battery-powered devices, and with built-in mesh capability, so non-battery devices can extend the range. By itself, it has no “smart home” features — like WiFi, it just connects things.

Since a Thread IP network is a different subnet (address range / broadcast domain) than your WiFi network, you need a router to interconnect them — just like you need a router to connect your LAN subnet to the Internet. A router simply routes packets between subnets. Thread calls them “border routers,” to differentiate from the signal repeaters.