SolarEdge Integration: Dynamic intervals for data retrieval

The current implementation updates every 15 minutes due to a 300 request/day limit. However, I feel like this could be done ‘smarter’ (in true Home Assistant style haha). For example, at night the solar panels are producing no energy; 1 retrieval per e.g. 1 hour would be fine with me. During the daytime, and especially around 12:00, the panels are producing a lot of energy and 1 call per e.g. 5 minutes would be nice to have.

Would it be possible to make the retrieval schedule more dynamic? I’m not sure about specific implementation details (I’m very new to home assistant), but maybe implement a high/medium/low frequency and bind them to custom time intervals or maybe even entities (sun up/down)? Though the latter is of course maybe a bit more/too ‘dangerous’ as you’re not sure if you’re going over the 300 limit.

For example, for my solar panels I’d put something like this:
High frequency: 10:00-14:00 every 5 minutes
Medium frequency: 6:00-10:00 / 14:00-20:00 every 15 minutes
Low frequency: 20:00-6:00 every 1 hour

Total requests:
4*12*3= 144
10*4*3=120
10*1*3=30
total = 144 + 120 + 30 + 4 = 298

Now, I don’t know if this is worth the extra hassle, but I think it’s an interesting idea to think about at least.

Nice idea! I think it would also work with sunrise/sunset. Would just have to be calculated once per day (eg midnight) how long the high frequency time is and divide it by remaining requests after low frequency time to get the target interval.
Maybe leave some room if eg. the phone app shares a limit pool.

Doesn’t SolarEdge provide any local API like Modbus?

PS: don’t forget to vote for your own feature request :wink:

1 Like