[solved] [How-to] Run a bash/shell commands and use output as a variable eg for Denon AVR

Full project / how-to use command_line, fetch unsupported states of Dennon AVRs available in the web frontend of network accessable Denon/Marantz AVRs at the end of this post

(here the original question - as description of my problem)

Hi and sorry if id should have found the exact answer in an existing thread. All I found didn’t really match my needs. I’m a total rookie - started yesterday.

So I have setup home assistant (docker) on my synology NAS. denonavr integration is running and already sending notifications to my LG Smart TV.

Unfortunatly I’m not able to get source signal information (I want to dissplay the source output channel like 5.1 and 2.0).

If someone knows the exact attribute to fetch this information it would be great. I did not find it
Denon AVR Network Receivers - Home Assistant

So a simple way would be to add a trigger to call my bash script which gets the source format/channel information using GNU Linux commands like wget, grep and head. The information I am looking can be read out from the AVRs web frontend.

So long story short: Is it possible to fetch output of a bash/shell script to use it as a variable for an automatition?

Thanks in advance

Edit: If your’e asking why I want do to this - the TV is connected via eARC and so there is no way to have an on screen display from the receiver with these information.

How to fetch information eg from web fronted of Denon network enabled AVRs that are not supported but viewable on the Web frontend

First - Open a Chrome/Chromium or derivat browser using other browsers may vary

• visit your AVRs web frontend (by entering its ip or by url) - make sure you are at the main page(!)
  • press F12 - a developer console appears on the right site of the browsers page