SOLVED TTS Text to Speech / Google Translate won't work in Dutch

Hi,
I’m a newbie with HA. I started to work with HA only 3 days ago.
TTS works fine in the default language English but I’d like to use it in my native language: Dutch.

After some research I found I had to add ‘language’ to the configuration.yaml

Default entries:

Text to speech

tts:

• platform: google_translate

After change:

Text to speech

tts:

• platform: google_translate
    language: ‘nl’

I restarted HA, but the TTS langage remains English.
Have I missed something?
Thanks for your help

Do you also use Nabu Casa?

No, I don’t use the Cloud service.

do you see any errors?

btw, you dont need the language setting in the configuration at all.

simply using:

tts:
  - platform: google_translate
    service_name: google_say
    cache: false

and add the language you desire to the service:

- service: tts.google_say
        data:
          language: >
            {{states('input_select.intercom_language')|lower}}
          entity_id: >
            {{states('sensor.intercom')}}
            {{states('input_select.intercom_message')}}

Using template for all fields here, but you can replace that with fixed values. for the language: any of the google languages is supported… (so you can have a dutch message pronounced with an Italian accent.:wink:

btw, for using code in this forum, please show them formatted correctly using 3 backticks before and after the code block, or use the </> in the editor menubar

Hi,

Thanks for your reply and provided code but I really don’t understand what it means. I’m not a programmer, my apologies.

The only thing I want to do is tell Home Assistant to speak Dutch instead of English when using text to speech.

By copy and pasting your code, it should work in Dutch?
Where do I have to paste the code? Into configuration.yaml or somewhere else?

I’m really a newbie and trie to find my way. Any online resources to learn the basics?

Thanks!