Some newbie help on Node-Red

I just created my first Node-Red automation and while I got there I found it a bit trickier than I expected…
For some reason I expected all of the variables of a device to appear (similar to how they do in HA) in a list for me to just select, but the only way I could grab them was to use a debug node to output them - is this correct or have I missed something?

I then also found it tricky to identify which output node to use and just sort of guessed that the cover one was the option - is there a way to know this better?

Finally, out of interest, is there a way to do this in Home Assistant UI with just one item? It seems it would take three, but might be missing something as I’m new to the whole thing…

no, that is how to get details of events. Set the debug to complete message object for all attributes.

Trigger and event are most common. Trigger allows conditions, while the event state has a wait_for option. Then there are mqtt and other specialty nodes that can act as triggers.

There is also a new device node that has specific options for devices that are auto fill. Also the time node that paired with a datetime helper in ha allows you set specific times. There are also other triggers but these are some of the main ones.

Not sure if you have watched the Youtube videos ? These are from the developers of Node red and give you a good understanding of the basics

Once you have watched those then i would highly recommend these two that are specificy to HA and the NR Webhooks integration

and an older one from him but more basic

Craig

1 Like

Thanks - I’ve actually watched both of those but I didn’t find them too useful

They go straight into capturing motion but missed the simplest thing of ‘pressing a button’ - in fact, I couldn’t find a single guide that mentioned how to do that…